top of page

A Brief History of the Almighty Rhombus

The Almighty Rhombus started life in 2012 as Rhombus, a 3-piece band consisting of Carter Drake on drums, Michael Kenny on guitar/vocals, and Ryan Nicholson on guitar/bass. Not long after, keyboardist Clayton Drake came onboard, and not long after that, guitarist Cameron Drake came on board and Ryan moved to bass. In late 2012, Ryan left the band and was replaced by Neil Bednis on bass. Their name was changed to the Almighty Rhombus in late 2012 to distinguish the band from other Rhombus-based entertainment.


This iteration of the band released a debut self-titled EP in 2013, followed by a full length, Lucid Living, in 2013. From 2013-2015, Rhombus also released four official music videos, completed 4 east coast tours, performed at CMW, NXNE, Halifax Pop Explosion, River & Sky Camping and Music Festival, and Northern Lights Festival Boreal.


Over the summer of 2015, Neil left the band and moved to Oakville (he has since started the band Casper Skulls with Sudbury native Mel St. Pierre). Cameron also left the band to focus on a career as an electrician. Neil was replaced by bassist Laura Willett, and Cameron was replaced by guitarist Keegan McDonald. This is the current lineup of the band.


From 2015-2017, The Almighty Rhombus focused on accelerated development of musical chemistry with their new lineup by writing 20 new songs using a variety of different techniques and focusing on a variety of different genres, and recording demo versions of them, then touring this new material rigorously around southern Ontario and the east coast (3 eastern tours in 2016 alone).


This new version of the Almighty Rhombus is a far better band than the old version ever was.

bottom of page